New Video: Beyond the Desktop – Designing Future Interactions

I recently published a new lecture recording on Youtube: Beyond the Desktop – Designing Future Interactions.

This one is a bit special to me as it is probably my favorite among the dozens of lectures I’ve prepared and presented over the years. It is about the history of desktop GUIs, the promise of ubiquitous computing, the rise of mobile, technological innovation, technology adoption and finally, it is also about science fiction as a tool for prototyping and thinking about the future. It covers a lot of ground but I like to think that I managed to pull it all together in a rather elegant and coherent fashion.

The first version of this lecture was presented in 2016 and it gave me an opportunity to collect and assemble a lot of my thinking and preoccupations back at the time. The published video is from 2020, recorded during the great pandemic with its mandated distance learning formats and live-streamed video lectures, with some modest editing and expansion in subsequent years. Looking at it now it becomes painfully apparent that it doesn’t live up to the technological Zeitgeist – there isn’t enough talk of mixed reality, the metaverse and artificial intelligence for that – yet at the same time I’m happy that this archival version of possibly my favorite lecture exists and that it is finally publicly available.

I should mention that the production of this video was only possible thanks to Descript, a new AI-enhanced video editing tool that allows you to edit a video by editing the text transcript of that video’s audio track, allowing for precise edits down to cutting out single words and utterances. Previous versions of this video were edited in iMovie and none of those were fit for publication, but Descript enabled a level of editing precision and efficiency unlike anything I had experienced before. So if you’re editing text-heavy videos such as lectures, how-to guides, reviews, podcasts and the likes, I can highly recommend Descript.