Aphantasia: How It Feels To Be Blind In Your Mind

Blake Ross, co-founder of Firefox and former director of product at Facebook, recently shared a personal revelation of his: That he can’t visualize things in his mind:

I just learned something about you and it is blowing my goddamned mind.

This is not a joke. It is not “blowing my mind” a la BuzzFeed’s “8 Things You Won’t Believe About Tarantulas.” It is, I think, as close to an honest-to-goodness revelation as I will ever live in the flesh.

Here it is: You can visualize things in your mind.

Read “Aphantasia: How It Feels To Be Blind In Your Mind”

Upon reading the article, I immediately panicked and started wondering whether I could lack that ability myself without ever having noticed, but upon trial and reflection I’ve concluded that I am capable of visualizing things in my mind, I’m just not very good at it 🙂

It’s remarkable to imagine how different the experience of the world and memories must be when you can’t visualize anything in your mind, and I find it even more remarkable to go through life for more than 30 years without noticing that your mind works differently than the minds of most people around you.

