The trouble with 3D Touch

Jason Snell isn’t entirely happy with 3D Touch:

Although Apple’s proud of the peek/pop interface that it unveiled with the iPhone 6s, I’m skeptical of its utility. Most of the time, when I accidentally initiate a “peek” of the content behind whatever I’m pressing on, it’s content I was already trying to see by tapping. Loading a “peek” doesn’t really take any more time than actually tapping on an item and loading the result, and returning back to the previous screen seems a lot less work than holding your finger on the glass while you peruse a “peek” to see if it’s worth opening the rest of the way.

In other words, most of the time I don’t see any benefit to using 3D Touch to reveal content in apps over just tapping to reveal that content the usual way. It’s a solution to a problem we didn’t have.

That’s exactly what I was thinking when Apple announced the feature last fall: “Why the hell would anyone use “peek” when I might as well just click through?” Back then I hadn’t had a chance to try the feature for real and was certain to have missed something, but it would seem that initial skepticism was right.

Jason goes on to propose a simple fix for 3D Touch – make it backwards-compatible with the majority of the iPhone install base:

That’s why the right thing for Apple to do is to change the behavior of 3D Touch in a future version of iOS so that it has a non–3D-Touch equivalent. In other words, 3D Touch should just be a faster, more efficient version of a gesture that every iOS user can perform. That way, users of devices with 3D Touch will get a benefit, but app developers don’t have to think about implementing a feature that won’t work with most devices.

Sounds about right to me.

