Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening

tumblr_inline_nnxbhtCeia1qzgaxf_1280

I picked this up during an easter sale, to take a break from my 100+ hours Dragon Age: Inquisition playthrough. Going directly from DA:I back to DA:O, the differences as well as similarities were striking: From a technological point, the series has evolved tremendously, yet (somewhat surprisingly) the much less advanced and sophisticated gameplay of DA:O is still a lot of fun – maybe a different kind of fun tinged by nostalgia, but still. On the other hand, a lot of the core gameplay mechanics in DA:I can be traced back directly to Awakening, such as the keep that you fortify and maintain, or the political intrigue. I’m glad I finally had a chance to play it, if only to better understand the evolution of the series as a whole.

