Valentine’s Day Reading (Heavy on Bots)

Invisible Boyfriend is an online service that provides “real-world and social proof that you’re in a relationship – even if you’re not – so you can get back to living life on your own terms” for $25 a month. Caitlin Dewey tried the service for the Washington Post. Unsurprisingly the service launched shortly before Valentine’s Day, which is of course by far the best time of the year to launch a service like this. There’s also a service for Invisible Girlfriends.

Justin Long has automated Tinder with Eigenfaces. The bot does all the swiping based on facial recognition training and even autonomously initiates and pursues conversations to a point were strong interest is indicated. In 48 hours the bot found 21 matches and made 4 extended conversations. Source on GitHub.

More on Tinder bots, this time of the spam variety.

How to fall in love with anyone, in 36 easy steps. There’s even an app for that (only works on mobile).

The Guardian put Google Glass on a couple of couples and watched them date. Strangely compelling.

What I imagine my boyfriend’s ex-girlfriends are doing right now“. And I thought I was driving myself crazy sometimes.

How to lose weight in 4 easy steps. Number 3 is really hard, but I can vouch that it works.

And finally, because the movie is currently tearing up the box office (I’ve already done my part contributing to its success), 50 Shades of Disney, courtesy of Cosmopolitan. Probably not quite safe for work.

